Information for Current Student-Athletes

2023/2024 Calendar

 

Monday, August 28 to Thursday, August 31 – DHA Pre-Season Camp (optional) 

Tuesday, September 5 – First Day at DHA 7:45am-3:15pm (Welcome Orientation, Team Meetings, Equipment & Apparel Distribution, Individual Player Pictures, Fall Fitness Testing, NDSS Orientation)

Wednesday, September 6 – First Full Day at DHA & NDSS

Wednesday, September 6 to Friday, September 15 – Baseline Concussion Testing 

Friday, September 22 – Non-Instructional Day

Monday, October 2 – National Day for Truth and Reconciliation

Monday, October 9 – Thanksgiving Day

Tuesday, October 17 – Interim Report Card Semester 1

Friday, October 20 – Non-Instructional Day

Thursday, October 26 – Parent Teacher Interviews at NDSS (altered schedule)

Tuesday, November 7 – Reporting to Parents NDSS (altered schedule)

Friday, November 10 – Non-Instructional Day

Monday, November 13 – Remembrance Day (observed stat)

Thursday, November 16 – Mid Semester 1 Report Card

Monday, November 27 – Non-Instructional Day

Wednesday, November 29 – Holiday Hamper outreach begins in support of the Lower Mainland Purpose Society

Monday, December 18 – Last day to bring donations to the rink for Holiday Hampers 

Tuesday, December 19 – Skills Competition

Thursday, December 21 – Holiday Pancake Breakfast 

Friday, December 22 – Last Day of School before Winter Break

December 23 to January 7 – Winter Break

Monday, January 8 – Back to DHA & NDSS after Winter Break

Thursday, January 25 – Final Day of Semester 1

Friday, January 26 – Non-Instructional Day

Monday, January 29 – Wednesday, January 31 – Semester 1 Transition Days (altered schedule) 

Thursday, February 1 – Start of Semester 2

Thursday, February 8 – Final Semester 1 Report Card

Friday, February 16 – Non-Instructional Day

Monday, February 19 – Family Day

Thursday, March 7 – Interim Report Card Semester 2

Thursday, March 14 – Parent Teacher Interviews at NDSS (altered schedule)

March 7-17 – CSSHL Playoffs in Penticton (exact dates differ for each team — see TeamSnap for more details)

Monday, March 18 to Thursday, March 28 – Spring Break

Friday, March 29 – Good Friday

Monday, April 1 – Easter Monday

Tuesday, April 2 – Back to DHA & NDSS after Spring/Easter Break (Start of Spring Training Schedule)

Wednesday, April 3 – Return Game Jerseys to Pro Shop

Wednesday, April 3 to Friday, April 5 – DHA Evaluation Camp for 2024/2025 Season

Tuesday, April 23 – NDSS Reporting to Parents (altered schedule)

Tuesday, April 30 – Mid Semester 2 Report Card

Friday, May 17 – Non-Instructional Day

Monday, May 20 – Victoria Day

TBD in June – Year End Banquet

Friday, June 14 – Final Day at DHA

Monday, June 17 to Friday, June 21 – All programming at NDSS (altered schedule)

Friday, June 21 – Final Day of Semester 2 Classes at NDSS

Thursday, June 27 – Final Semester 2 Report Card

Daily Schedules

Fall + Winter Schedule = September 6, 2023 to March 15, 2024

Spring Schedule = April 2 to June 14, 2024

Final Week of School = June 17 to June 21, 2024

Bus Schedule

Fall + Winter Schedule = September 6, 2023 to March 15, 2024

Early Dismissal Thursdays that will follow the same afternoon schedule as Tuesday/Wednesday/Friday: Oct 19, Nov 9, Nov 30, Jan 18, Feb 22

Contact our Administrative Team

We have a team of administrative staff at DHA and NDSS to help out if you have questions. Here’s a helpful reference on who to contact:

Hockey programming inquiries:

Academic inquiries:

Report an absence from school:

Tuition and payment inquiries:

Media and website inquiries:

Clinic appointment inquiries & registrations: 

General inquiries: 

Nutrition Program

GSL Group has built a lunch program for our DHA student-athletes with the option of ordering breakfast and lunch throughout the week made fresh in Boomers restaurant at Planet Ice Delta. 

PRICES:

  • DHA Breakfast Wrap               $ 6.17 + .33 GST = $6.50
  • DHA Lunch Meal                     $15.67 + .83 GST = $16.50

LUNCH MEAL CHOICES:

All meals include bottled water, fruit and a snack.

NEW ADDITIONS:

  • Pepperoni Pizza Sub (hoagie roll topped with mozzarella/cheddar cheese and pepperoni)
  • Greek Quinoa Salad with Grilled Chicken (quinoa mixed with red/green pepper, cucumber, tomato and feta cheese)
  • Mini Quiches with Macaroni and Cheese (3 mini quiches with bacon bits served with macaroni and cheese)
  • Pasta Salad with Grilled Chicken (tri-colour rotini, cherry tomatoes, red/green pepper all tossed in Italian dressing topped with grilled chicken)
  • Alfredo Pasta (penne pasta tossed in creamy and cheesy alfredo sauce)

ALL-TIME FAVOURITES:

  • Marinara Pasta
  • Butter Chicken
  • Ham & Cheese Sandwich
  • Teriyaki Chicken

HOW TO ORDER:

  • email Jona Sumague jona.sumague@planetice.ca each week before Thursday at 3:00pm with your order for the following week in the body of the email.
  • Include the name of your athlete and meal selections in order by day of the week and time (10:00am or 12:00pm)
  • Put the athlete’s name as the title of your email.
  • Please state if it is a standing order or for the specified dates only.
  • For billing: Jona will send you a weekly invoice from Boomers using Square software.

Travel Insurance

All student-athletes travelling outside of Canada with the Delta Hockey Academy are required to have travel insurance. If you do not already have travel insurance through your family’s insurance plan, you can purchase short-term travel insurance from TuGo prior to your trip at this link.